Curator Actions on 'our' tree, Unilaterally attached to big tree.

Started by Private User on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
Showing all 16 posts
Private User
11/10/2010 at 10:22 AM

What appears below is my mail (slightly editied) to help regarding an action by a curator that has joined our tree to the big tree. I have not gotten a response but understand they are busy. Yesterday another leg of our tree was merged by someone else and now we have a great deal of pollution, duplication, and multiple managers.

<Greetings and thanks for creating and supporting Geni.

Our previously private family tree was merged without notice into the big tree by a curator, @Jennifer dongvillo archibald, evidently married to our 7th cousin but otherwise unknown to us.

I am a pro user and there is at least one other in our extended and far flung family working together to put in place a compendium of information on our relationships. Although we are not averse to the goal of Geni to make one big tree, our immediate goal was to build out our own branches and share media privately before being sucked into the big tree.

Anyway, she merged and created a master profile from my brother's profile of @S. G. W. Archibald (my 4th GGF), and requested management from my brother of one of his sons, @Thomas Dickson Archibald (my 3rd GGF), which my brother refused as it came without an explanation.

(I have read another thread regarding unilateral curator activity and do not intend a destructive debacle)

However, as I read the expectations of curators she does not appear to be acting as expected.

First, dragged us unwilling into the big tree. (major caveat)

Second, she took over a profile that we created without notice. It was 'public' by Geni rule and default, not because we wanted anyone to unilaterally usurp it. So far I have not been able to make profiles that default to public private. Unchecking is not persistent.