Lord Thurston Basset, of Drayton, Staffordshire - Does anyone know how Bassett's turned into Bennett's

Started by Anthony Wayne Bennett on Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Problem with this page?

Participants:

Showing all 20 posts

I followed the trail of Bennett's to Sir Ralph Bennett (birth before 1245 is listed as year) until we get to his father, Sir Thomas Bassett (between 1108 and 1162) then the line is Bassett from the first few generations (preceded by Richard, Ralph, and Thurston here). Seeing how the names are somewhat similar, take out "ass" from Bassett and add "enn" into the same spot and you get Bennett, I have to wonder if something as simple as a transcription error could've shifted the name/history of a family line. I don't think there were legal name changes in midieval times, no? Or do you think there could've been something more to it? I'm very new with this and would be immensely appreciative of any additional information anyone could be provide. Thank you!

No.

That is not a medieval transcription error.

That is a different error.

BRB

The Bennett lines are pretty garbled. There are people with impossible names -- not just middle names, which weren't used, but names that weren't used at all at the time -- and connections that can't be true because of the chronology.

What is the earliest Bennett profile that you can trace to now?

I can trace with strong certainty to at least Thomas Bennett Sr of Wiveliscombe, Somerset, England in the 1500's. He's my 13th GGF. His brother, Edward Bennett, is notable for establishing the largest plantation in Virginia near Jamestown when he chartered the Sea Flower in 1622. He brought his nephew, Thomas's son Richard. He settled upward 600-800 Puritans, later including my 12th GGF Thomas Jr. though not much is known about him biographically speaking. Great uncle Richard, however, went on to become a Major Gen and an early Governor of Virginia... He's also the 4 GGF of Confederate leader Robert E Lee.