Hugh Ross, ll - John Ross of Guilford, son of Hugh Ross, son of Hugh Ross, of Virginia

Started by Les Ross on Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Problem with this page?

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Showing all 22 posts

There are two Hugh Rosses on the line of John Ross of Guilford, not just one as some think. Quite a number of old trees on Ancestry.com have Hugh Ross as father of John Ross of Guilford, and some have James Ross as father of John Ross of Guilford.
The primary sources are with Hugh Ross and Hugh Ross," It is all a long story, so contact me if you please.

I’ve been reading some of your entries on Family Search and had a quick look at Boddie’s book (not sure I follow yet how the Elizabeth City Rosses tie in but I’m just beginning here). Anyway I’m sold you have it right on Hugh l > Hugh ll > John of Guilford. I think it best you enter as you know best and then we try and match up existing Geni profiles.

Thank you. I have seen your good work here.
Then you noticed Francis Ross as son of James P Ross and another as father of James P Ross. Is that okay. Some think it is Hugh Ross the Jacobite, but I doubt that as he was here in 1717 or so after the fact. Formerly it was Hugh Earl of Ross and Margaret DeBarclay, makeovers of what they were. Now we know from these old books mostly and documents or lack of documents.
I know the line, but I don't know technology very well. We can sort out mistakes later I guess, but it is way off now. I don't know who this other Hugh is as son of David Ross. Can we go around him? Or do we put two Hugh Rosses under David Ross and Margaret Stronach.

Post the Geni profile URL of any needing disconnects from parents / spouses, I will see and do the cut, then you can do a new entry & we can match up.