Walter de Beauchamp, Sheriff of Worcestershire - Sir Walter de Beauchamp, of Elmley

Started by Hatte Anne Blejer on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Showing all 9 posts
6/25/2014 at 5:51 PM

In looking where to place Giles de Beauchamp, d. Oct. 1361, I started looking at this profile. Walter de Beauchamp is the father of Giles de Beauchamp according to various sources. I noticed that the birth and death dates on the profile did not match anything in the About.

I suspect that either there was a merger or a case of mistaken identity. I'm not an expert in 13th and 14th century British families, so I hope someone out there can suggest some good sources for the family -- preferably primary sources, if they exist.

The wife of Sir Walter de Beauchamp d. 1303 and mother of Giles de Beauchamp is supposedly Alice de Toeni, which is what the About says too, but here the profile has another wife, a second indication of two profiles being merged mistakenly or of some confusion.

Should the wife be Alice de Toeni? Who are the children? What are the correct birth and death dates? Thank you.

6/25/2014 at 5:56 PM

Alice de Toeni, Countess of Warwick married to another de Beauchamp with a son Giles de Beauchamp.

It looks like there has been a lot of attaching and detaching in Sir Walter's case.

Carole (Erickson) Pomeroy,Vol. Curator, Private User, Pam Wilson (on hiatus) -- any input?

6/25/2014 at 6:18 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_de_Beauchamp,_9th_Earl_of_Warwick
William de Beauchamp, 9th Earl of Warwick
His father was William de Beauchamp of Elmley Castle and his mother Isabel Mauduit, sister and heiress of William Mauduit, 8th Earl of Warwick, from whom he inherited his title in 1268. He had a sister, Sarah, who married Richard Talbot.

He married Maud FitzJohn. Their children included:

Isabella de Beauchamp,[8] married firstly, Sir Patrick de Chaworth and, secondly, Hugh le Despenser, 1st Earl of Winchester